Patrons of the Peace Park project

  • An Taoiseach, Mr Enda Kenny, T.D.
  • The Most Reverend  Dr, Michael Neary, Archbishop of Tuam.
  • The Reverend Gary Hastings, Church of Ireland , Westport.
  • Duke of Abercorn, Retd, Honorary Colonel of the Irish Guards Regiment.
  • Mr Michael Feeney M.B.E.
  • Col, James A V Mortell Retd, Irish Army.
  • Captain, Donal Buckley, Retd Irish Army.
  • Mr Michael Ring T.D.
  • Mr Gerry Casey, Castlebar
  • Mr Padraig Flynn ( Retd) E.U. Commissioner.
  • Senator John Carty , Mayo.   Knock. R.I.P.
  • Mr Johnny Mee, M.C.C.
  • Cllr, Eugene Lavin M.C.C.  Kiltimagh
  • Mr Frank Chambers, M.C.C. Retd. Newport .
  • Mr Sean Horkan, Castlebar.
  • Mr Kevin Bourke, BL.
  • Noel CoghlanCastlebar.
  • Mr Aiden Crowley ,   Castlebar.
  • Colonel  Cyril Woods, KtStJ. Canada
  • Mr Paul Smithwick.   Kilkenny,
  • Dr Diarmuid Murray GP,  Knock, President of the Mayo Peace Park Committee.
  • Mr Martin Coyle ,      London.
  • Mr Peter Murray,      London.
  • Mr Charlie Kenny,     Dublin.
  • Mr Michael Leavy,     Belfast.
  • Mr Dermot Neely,     Blackpool.
  • Mr Noel Sweeney.    Staffordshire.
  • Mr Joe Kennedy.      Manchester.
  • Mr Noel Coghlan.     Dublin & Brussels.


Castlebar, Mayo Peace Park



Quinn Memorial      United Nations Memorial    Feeney MemorialMayo Memorial World War IIFr. Heneghan MemorialIrish Guards Memorial



The Irish Round Tower in Messines.


  • Irish Round Tower

    The Ireland Peace Park in Messines .


Last Updated (Monday, 13 October 2014 12:48)

Latest News
Prestigious Visit

Prestigious Visit

Sunday the 22nd of February 2015, will go down as a very historic day in the history of the Mayo Peace Park.  

We had  a top level visit  from the Irish Government, led  by  the Irish Prime Minister, An Taoiseach  Mr Enda Kenny,  Mrs Francis Fitzgerald, the Irish Minister for Justice, Mr Simon Coveney, the Minister for Defence and Mr Charlie Flanagan the Minister for Foreign Affairs.

Fresh Floral Wreaths  were laid at the Garda Memorial by the Justice Minister and at the world war one memorial by the Ministers  for Defence and Foreign Affairs.

In what was a remarkable and  beautiful ceremony, An Taoiseach and the  three Ministers delivered excellent and very thought  provoking speech's on the value of world  peace, praising the committement and  sacrifice  of those who have served our country at home and abroad.



The Mayo Peace Park will host a number of prestigious events this year,  we are starting  next Sunday .

On Saturday the 25th of April we will gather to remember Anzac Day , we have some special visitors arriving from Australia to lay wreaths. 

On Thusday the  7th of May, we will mark the 70th  anniversaryof the ending of world war two and the 100th anniversary of the sinking of the RMS Lusitania off  the Irish coast, 1,198 lives were lost, including 10 Mayo born crew members.  We are unveiling a special memorial on the day.

We will have numerous family groups , association,  historical societies and school educational tours and international choirs visiting over the spring and summer months.

On Saturday the  4th of July, American Independance Day, we are inviting anyone with an interest to join with us as we unveil a memoral seat in memory of Cpl Joseph A. Clancy from Westport , a resident of Cook, county Illinois USA  who died in an aircrash during the Vietnam War.

This will be followed by a 4th of July  American Style  Barbecue with music and song. We would love to have the US/ Irish Community join with us  for what should be a memorable evening.



Events Update

We hope to mark the 100th  Anniversary of Anzac Day in the Mayo Peace Park on  the  25th  of   April.

We hope to mark the 100th Anniversary of  the  ending of  World War 2.

We hope to mark the 100th anniversary of the sinking of the Lusitania, on the 7th of May, an event that claimed the lives of a large number of Mayo people.

We are hosting an American Independence Day event on Saturday the 4th of July; this will be a major event.

We are unveiling a memorial seat in memory of Cpl Joseph A. Clancy  from Westport , who lived in Cook county Illinois, USA. Cpl Clancy died in an air crash during the Vietnam War.

We  are  holding an American Style Barbeque and music in Cox’s Bar, after the event.

We  have  three  German groups  visiting , in May, June & July as well as many choirs, and  other family groups.


Christmas Truce 1914

The Anniversary of Soldiers Christmas Truce of 1914, will be commemorated at 2.30pm, on Christmas Eve, in the Mayo Peace Park, Castlebar .  The programme will commence with  a novel football game  Germany v The Allied Army. Castlebar Marching Band and Piper Pat Conlon will entertain the troop's. A lovely selection of Christmas Carol's will be sung by a choir drawn from the ranks of the Men's Shed in Castlebar and St Josephs Girls Secondary School.  Everyone is invited to come along to join in the spirit of the occasion, around a specially recreated trench.